Cup of Coffee: May 6, 2024

The Luis Arráez trade, Trea Turner is hurt, uniform fixes, tax-avoiding owners beware, the "Rooted in Oakland" truck, Tom Cotton, LinkedIn, and Old Timey Base Ball

Good morning!

Before we get into today’s business, I wanted to let you know that this will be a weird week at Cup of Coffee. The college school year is coming to an end and I will be driving up to Burlington, Vermont later this week to (a) help my daughter move out of her dorm (b) transport a bunch of her stuff into a storage unit; and (c) if she does not annoy me too much, to bring her back home for the summer.

As I have complained about at length, Burlington is an eleven and a half hour drive from Cup of Coffee Headquarters, which means that I’ll be on the road all damn day on Wednesday and contending with the New York Throughway and the beautiful-yet-Trump-sign-and-flag-dominated Adirondack byways. Thursday will entail a lot of moving and logistics, and I’ll be on the road all damn day Friday heading back. Which is to say, it’s unlikely that there will be a proper newsletter on Thursday, though I will likely send out a “hey, hi” missive that morning. Friday is TBD, but I’m guessing it’ll be curtailed at best and there may not be one at all depending on how things go the day before.

For those who are curious, my son is already home from Ohio University. I got him on Friday, but that only requires a 150-mile round trip. Usually, anyway. This time around it was 200 miles because we were 25 miles back toward home when Carlo realized he left his turntable and a box of vinyl back in his dorm and we had to double back to get it. I somehow refrained from murdering him for that but, even then, it was a walk in the park compared to the 1,400+ mile round trip I’ll be undertaking to get Anna this week.

Anyway, just wanted to let you know. Today, as usual, there is baseball stuff and non-baseball stuff, but I’ve spent enough time talking already that I’m not gonna preview it anymore. Let’s just jump on in, shall we?

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Join the conversation

or to participate.