Cup of Coffee: January 31, 2024

The O's may be sold, unexpected surgery, deals, more on SI, a Cup of Coffee Slack, and it's apparently Rich Asshole Day

Good morning!

We’re back to normal around here today and not a moment too soon, as a lot went down yesterday.

The biggest news: the Angelos family is selling the Orioles. Or so Orioles fans hope. The World Series MVP had unexpected surgery. The Jays signed a bat, the Twins and M’s made a trade the Angels signed a guy someone else is paying, the stolen Jackie Robinson statue has been found, I have another Jimy Williams story, and I get all kinds of cranky about someone defending Sports Illustrated’s irresponsible private equity owners.

In Other Stuff Cup of Coffee now has a Slack, and nothing has made me feel more old. We also have items about Elon Musk, Roger Goodell, and Donald Trump, so it must be Rich Asshole Day here at Cup of Coffee. Imagine if I had done what I was gonna do and had written an item about some Les Wexner stuff I had tweeted about. I guess I reached my Rich Asshole limit sometime yesterday evening. It’s a defense mechanism you see. One that in Modern America, is critical if one wants to keep one’s sanity.

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Join the conversation

or to participate.