Cup of Coffee: April 19, 2024

Sox injuries, frank reliever talk, getting by without public subsidies, Gregg Doyel, Russia, the stakes of 2024, and how billionaires travel

Good morning!

Happy Friday folks. Unless you’re a Red Sox fan, that is, in which case you’re likely not happy due to a couple of injuries. But you can cheer up some by hearing about Aroldis Chapman getting suspended, listening to a relief pitcher offer some surprisingly uplifting frank talk, and learning about how, amazingly, sports teams get by just fine when public subsidies for stadiums are not an option.

In Other Stuff: I by no means wish to offer a take on Gregg Doyel’s idiocy with respect to Caitlin Clark because the last thing you need here is another middle aged white man talking about all that, but I do provide some 15 year-old flavor which is I find rather amusing. I also talk about how Russia is coopting the Republican Party, write some serious words about the stakes of the 2024 election, and then write some less serious words about how billionaires travel. And then I talk about how, even if I was a billionaire, I’d have a difficult time doing what they do. And no, it’s not because I’m a Philosophically Pure Class Warrior. It’s because I’m a Midwesterner and we’re weird like that.

Let’s roll on into the weekend, shall we?

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In

Join the conversation

or to participate.